2017 Men's 20km 2017 IAAF World Championships "London, England" Page 3 of 3

Quickly, smaller packs formed as the pace slightly picked up

Authorized neutral athelete Sergi Shirobokov took the lead alongside Columbia's Eider Arevalo. Brazil's Bonfim and South Africa' Shange were just a few steps back.

Germany's Linke wasn't about to give up/

Wang and Bird-Smith would have to rebound if they were going to be in contention for a medal.

In a dramatic finish, Colombia's Arevalo had just enough in the tank to negative split and claim the gold.

Arevalo crossing the line.

Arevalo crossing the line, 1:18:53

Shirobokov finishing in second, 1:18:55

Taking the bronze Bonfim from Brazil in 1:19:04.

Gold, Silver and Bronze.

4) Lebogang Shange, 1:19:18

5) Christopher Linke, 1:19:21

6) Dane Bird-Smith, 1:19:28

7) Kaihua Wang, 1:19:30

8) Álvaro Martin, 1:19:41

9) Alberto Amezcua, 1:19:46


Page 1 Page 2 Page 3

Photo Stories Elite Profiles Performance Lists Records